Hankering for Hong Kong

I think I’ve mentioned here before that somehow, I am in Hong Kong annually. Well, this year’s no different – only difference is I finally went with a friend. Supposed to be friends, but unfortunately Tin couldn’t make it. There’ll be a next time for us, I’ll make it happen.

As I said, I am used to going there either with family or in recent years, by myself. I found myself alone on the first day actually, and I spent it doing the same thing I always do when alone – getting lost and falling in love with strangers I see in public transport.

train door selfie- I AM GOING TO MAKE THIS HAPPEN, REGINA GEORGE!

train door selfie- I AM GOING TO MAKE THIS HAPPEN, REGINA GEORGE!

The inn I booked for us is situated in Causeway Bay. I’m familiar with Times Square, but not the rest of the area, so I decided to go around and know what’s up. I looked around for a good money changer and found one in Yeewo st, and saw that across that was a shortcut to our inn. Yay Ysa. In that shortcut you can see the Forever 21 (Helga informed me that this was the one that stays open until 1 am) and an Apple store (Vaness Wu did a meet and greet there but we missed him because you’re supposed to reserve a spot? fucking too much tbh).

After going around Causeway I went to Central and saw that all the stores were having a crazy ass sale. H&M was having the best because the store along Queen’s Road was closing so TONS of price slashing. I bought a Kanye shirt because that is to be expected of me. I got tired so I went to my favorite place in the whole of HK (besides Disney Land) – THE FLYING PAN!!!

It does not do well to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that, Ysa - Dumbledore probably

It does not do well to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that, Ysa – Dumbledore probably

Also here is a picture of a guy in the subway who looks like Geoffrey (Lannister).

Master Creeper at work

Master Creeper at work

The next day I woke up rather early because I had to pick up Helga from the airport (YAY). I took the train because I literally have no clue how to get to the airport by bus (I know how to get to the city by bus but not to the airport, dumberella).

even in fucking Hong Kong, Manchester United finds a way to ruin my day wow thanks guys

even in fucking Hong Kong, Manchester United finds a way to ruin my day wow thanks guys

As you would expect, Helga and I ate and shopped (the eating, as you can read in her blog, not so much) the day away. We ate at Din Tai Fung and cooled down at The Flying Pan again. For dinner, we went to Pizza Express. Have their pizza with prosciutto and cheese because it changed my life thank you.

The next day we basically did the same stuff, it’s Hong Kong, what do you expect. I’m surprised by our lack of pigging out constantly but when we do eat, we eat good.

Roaring 40s' burger at BLT! Literally found out a day later while googling that this is a very popular burger joint in HK! SO TRY IT.

Roaring 40s’ burger at BLT! Literally found out a day later while googling that this is a very popular burger joint in HK! SO TRY IT.

Helga loves her bacon wrapped phone

Helga loves her bacon wrapped phone

We went to Toys R Us because we are adults with kids (we are the kids) to take care of (again it’s just us tbh) so you know, we played with lightsabers (not penis but a girl can dream).

does this make my penis look big? how about now?

does this make my penis look big? how about now?

So Helga and I went to Mongkok right after because we’re already in the mainland so why not go around before heading back to the island side. We were basically ignoring all the signs about the typhoon and T3 level shit like, gurl it is a little bit of rain calm yourself. When we got to the Ladies Market, they were closing up shop, there was basically nothing to see and it was only 9 pm. Again it was because fucking Labuyo (yeah the storm dude) followed us in Hong Kong under the guise “Utor”. Like bitch u don’t gotta change ur name i know who u be!!!!!

So yes we just went inside Langham Place and Helga had her pictures taken with the Hello Kitty exhibit that we had no idea was there tbh. I think cutesy stuff follow Helga around or they just suddenly appear where she’s going, I can attest to this, it is real. Not one mall had nothing to offer, there was always something cutesy and Helga will find it. She will.

eheheheeheheheheheheehehehehehehehehehe cool gurl

eheheheeheheheheheheehehehehehehehehehe cool gurl (ignore Bayern pls thx)

This was the night we found out about Ichiran ramen because we wanted to find a 24 hour joint in the Causeway Bay area. Unfortunately because of Utor they only had 3 staff members at the restaurant so it would take an hour or so for us to get food, and we were hungry so we looked around and found a Tsui Wah chain right on the other street! Talk about lucky, I’ve always wanted to try their food anyway. I think Helga has pictures, I suck at taking them as u know.

We were supposed to go to Disneyland the next day but no, Utor ruined that too. The city was on lockdown. Every place was closed, even the subway had a new schedule (like 10 min intervals per train?) because the typhoon reached T8 or something, it was the wind really. It rained but it wasn’t scary at all. We went to the Avenue of Stars and all I can think of is KAIJU ALERT, KAIJU ALERT, WHERE IS CHARLIE DAY because the bay is there, I would have front row seats to a Jaeger vs Kaiju affair. I am also 5 yrs old.

We went to Madame Tussauds and I was so angry bc there were tons of people and they had no concept of personal space.

Papic po sir

Papic po sir

fe fi fo fum

fe fi fo fum

Also that night we finally had Ichiran ramen and I swear to ya’ll I met Jesus, he says hello

This is the first ramen I've ever had. Also obvs it is personalized there is none of those chives bullshit

This is the first ramen I’ve ever had. Also obvs it is personalized there is none of those chives bullshit

We went to Disneyland but that is another post because I actually took pictures, you guys! Like photographs! Can you believe it!

Anyway on our last day, we just went around to buy stuff we forgot to buy (mostly me for my sisters and me mum).

And that was it! It was a fairly typical shop and eat trip to Hong Kong. I had a lot of fun because I got to do it with a friend, but I am coming back next week (I know, shut up) because it’s my mom’s birthday month and she wants to celebrate in HK over the weekend.

So much for 2013 being a “Travel ban” year. How the hell am I going to Brazil for FIFA next year? I am now open to your suggestions!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

