Runaway

Never was much of a romantic
I could never take the intimacy
And I know it did damage
‘Cause the look in your eyes is killing me

I guess you knew another vantage
‘Cause you could blame me for everything
And I don’t know how I’ma manage
If one day you just up and leave

My life, basically.

I have come to realize that my personality gives men an advantage. They could blame me for everything because I am not a typical girl. No one really is typical, but when it comes to relationships some people do usual (and lose some parts of themselves in the process) or they retain their personality (and lose their lover in that process). I have not been  lucky enough to get someone who actually does not want me to change. I always had to do all the changing and it infuriates the fuck out of me that they expect all the women out there to be freaking lovely, sweet and caring. We were not born the same, for crying out loud. Some women have to toughen themselves up because of certain circumstances, and I do not regret that. Romance is not my thing, but I do know how to love. Isn’t that why you engage in relationships, because you want to be loved? I never knew it was because of romance and drama.

I do not regret being like this. I’m the favorite friend because I never have drama. I like that.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Runaway

  1. The media brainwashed us to live a life of drama!

  2. For almost two decades of existence in this non-existent world, my sense of morality and maturity never developed from relationships.

    I appreciate how the Universe gave me the opportunity to learn from it without being shoved into the laughable intricacies of so-called ‘love’ beforehand. I realized that romantic love does not guarantee humanistic redemption; albeit, if bred by weak individuals, fosters moronic predilections in life.

    • Thank you for this comment! I have to admit, I wrote this post out of anger.

      Good for you, that you didn’t have to experience the things I did. I have been with men who created their own definition of “love” and expected me to conform to it. As you have read, I did not (and would never). It would be nice if we could converse in an easier manner, not here in the comments section of my blog. I would love to trade thoughts.

Leave a Reply

